Officers 2014

Officers Text

History of the League

The League was formed as the Littlehampton Gazette Bowls League back in the winter of 1984/85 by the current League Chairman Chris Rolph. The Littlehampton Gazette continued to sponsor the League for 30 years until the end of Season 2014 when they notified they wished to cease their sponsorship. C & M Trophies of Littlehampton, who have provided the trophies for the League for many years, had indicated a desire to become sponsors of the League and after suitable discussions it was agreed that the League would be renamed the 'West Sussex Bowls League' – sponsored by 'C & M Trophies of Littlehampton'.

Chris Rolph

Chris acted as Hon. Secretary until the early 1990’s when he passed the reins on to his friend Brian Wellsted who worked tirelessly for the league until he passed away in 2007.

Brian was responsible for the fantastic growth the league has seen by attracting new teams, creating new divisions and starting the league knockout cup. Chris stayed involved ‘behind the scenes’ assisting Brian until being asked to return officially as Chairman some 12 years ago.

In the first season (1985) the league consisted of just one division and only six clubs (Norfolk, Maltravers, Arundel, East Preston, Middleton and Bognor). How times have changed! In 2016 the league boasts three divisions, 21 clubs and 27 teams.

Rod McBethThe league has developed so impressively over the years it is now widely regarded as the most successful and competitive league in the whole of Sussex County.

At the ADM in October 2011 Rod McBeth was elected to the post of Secretary and will once again this season be assisted by the same three Divisional Results Secretaries as last year. Division One will be looked after by Ray Hills (Norfolk BC), Division Two will again be Lew Mockett (Norfolk BC) and Division Three is Brian Heal (Arundel) once again. The PC Cup will be controlled by Rod McBeth.

The Management Committee for 2016 consists of the following gentlemen: David Jackson (Bognor BC), Ray Hills (Norfolk BC), Alan Messer (Tarring Priory BC) and Lindsay Bangs (Witterings BC).

David ParkerFinances of the league have been under the control of Bognor Regis BC member David Parker for nine years. He ensures we are kept in a healthy position.

The Annual Delegates Meeting of the League is held each October and the Presentation Day and Cup Final is held in September at Worthing Pavilion BC - in 2016 it will be on Sunday 18th September. We are very lucky that Worthing Pavilion BC have supported us for many years at no cost.

When the league started the KO Cup we were lucky enough to secure the sponsorship from Peter Chiffins for a total of ten years and this was then extended for a further 5 years. The PC Cup has been a wonderful addition to the leagues competition, long may it continue.

David JacksonOur webmaster is David Jackson, also of Bognor BC and we all offer our thanks for his work in moving the league forward and enhancing it’s already splendid reputation.

The Annual Match against the Brighton & Hove District League is scheduled for Wednesday 17th August, 2016 at Priory Park, Chichester and I must thank Chichester for once again agreeing to host this fixture for us. I will be asking clubs to nominate players for this fixture later in the season.

Rod McBeth – Hon. Secretary

C & M Trophies

We specialise in the supply of quality trophies and engraved goods to both retail and business customers. Established in 1978 we have built up a reputation for providing an excellent, high quality service with fast and efficient turnaround of our products.

Our 3000 square foot premises are located in the centre of Littlehampton and forms the base for both our business and workshops. As well as selling through the retail channel, we are pleased to be able to offer a fast and efficient mail order service. Free catalogues are available on request.

For more information, or helpful, friendly advice, please feel free to contact us.

C & M Trophies Contact Us

League & Cup Rules


List of the players

From the multi team clubs who played in 10 or more matches during the past season and who are therefore ineligible to commence the 2015 season in a lower team.

Wearing of Shorts

Details of Clubs that - DO - or - DO NOT - allow shorts to be worn.

Usage of Groundsheets

For info on Usage of Groundsheets in WS League Matches.


To view a list of the Club Contacts for season 2016.


When Brian (Wellsted) decided the league needed a Knockout Cup he looked around for someone to provide financial help and was lucky enough to persuade....

Peter Chiffins

Peter Chiffins of Tarring Priory BC to help us. Peter supplied us with a Winners Trophy and prize money for the Winners and Runners Up for a total of 10 seasons.

At last seasons finals day Peter generously contributed another sum of money allowing us to provide a winners and runners up cheque for another 5 years. Thank you Peter for giving us the PC Industrial Products competition.